Love Triangle (Adjacently)

I romanticize too much and forgot to pop out of my head to validate the reality

Some poor soul who cannot bear to watch my dream must drag me down 

I thought that the love you both surrounded me with this summer was real

Cloaking me in a desirable, translucent light

To tease the world

But not let them have me

Both of you made me feel special

In infinite amounts, I cannot describe

But to both of you, it was the simple kindness of your big hearts

There are women that live in your hearts rent free

While I bang on the surface, desiring to pay with my emotions 

But it is not enough to let you see me

Was it so selfish to want double the love while offering half of myself that was desirable for you to love?

Or was I delusional?

Living in the space in my head 

Shifting to a reality where I was enough 

Wanting my life to be alluring under the magic of summer

I will enjoy the time I spent with you

Because I will never get that magical delusion back

ABOUT

Esosa Zuwa (she/her) is an author and poet whose work has been published in Altered Reality Magazine, The Violet Hour Magazine, and The Globe Review to name a few. She is currently a contributor to the fanworks blog Fanficable and for Zenith Review. and an editor for Sea Glass Literary. She lives in Alberta, Canada somewhat reluctantly, and when not writing, you can find her gushing over fictional men written by women, fangirling over 20+ k-pop groups, having world tours in her living room, and attempting to navigate the turbulent but fascinating waters of teenage life. Like Issa Rae, she is rooting for everybody Black. You can visit her website: https://esosazuwa.carrd.co/#

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.